Highlights and images for 15 July 2016



The resumed session of the Thirty-Seventh Meeting of the Open-Ended Working Group of the Parties to the Montreal Protocol (resumed OEWG 37) opened on Friday, 15 July 2016, in Vienna, Austria. In the morning, delegates heard opening statements. Plenary convened for a stocktaking session that discussed progress in the contact group and informal groups, addressed organizational matters, and held a moment of silence for recent deaths of members of the “ozone family” and victims of the recent terrorist attacks in Nice, France.

The Contact Group on the Feasibility and Ways of Managing hydrofluorocarbons (HFC Management Contact Group) then convened to continue its work, including building on discussions held at the OEWG 37 in Geneva, Switzerland, in April 2016. The contact group heard a report back from the previous day’s informal discussions on financing and addressed the way forward to complete the work of the contact group in a timely manner. Delegates then adjourned to hold informal discussions on funding, the relationship of HFCs with hydrochlorofluorocarbons (HCFCs), and exemptions not related to high ambient temperatures, which took place for the remainder of the day.

The contact group reconvened in the evening for reports back from the informal discussions, and to discuss the way forward. Informal discussions on funding continued into the night.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, has provided daily web coverage, daily reports and also produced a summary and analysis report from the Resumed OEWG 37, OEWG 38 and ExMOP 3, which is available in HTML and PDF format.
Photos by IISD/ENB | Mike Muzurakis
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

View of the dais during a moment of silence for recent deaths of members of the “ozone family” and victims of the recent terrorist attacks in Nice, France

Tina Birmpili, Executive Secretary, Ozone Secretariat

OEWG 37 Co-Chair Paul Krajnik, Austria

Gudi Alkemade, European Union (EU)

OEWG 37 Co-Chair Paul Krajnik, Austria, with Rolf Engelhardt, Germany

Taha Mohammed Zatari, Saudi Arabia, with John Thompson, US

Gilbert Bankobeza, Ozone Secretariat, with OEWG 37 Co-Chair Leslie Smith, Grenada

Ilaitia Finau, Fiji, with Shamila Nair-Bedouelle, UNEP

From L-R: Gilbert Bankobeza, Ozone Secretariat; Tina Birmpili, Executive Secretary, Ozone Secretariat; OEWG 37 Co-Chair Paul Krajnik, Austria; OEWG 37 Co-Chair Leslie Smith, Grenada; and Megumi Seki, Ozone Secretariat

Margaret Aanyu, Uganda

OEWG 37 Co-Chair Leslie Smith, Grenada

Rubén Armando Escalante Hasbún, El Salvador

Annie Gabriel, Australia

Mazen Khalil Hussein, Lebanon

From L-R: Hamoud Al-Otaibi, Saudi Arabia; Iftikhar-ul-Hassan Gilani, Pakistan; and Taha Mohammed Zatari, Saudi Arabia

HFCs Management Contact Group Co-Chair ​ Xia Yingxian, China

Martin Sirois, Canada

Yaqoub Al-Matouq, Kuwait

Hassan Ali Mubarak, Bahrain, and Melony Mckenzie, Bahamas

Tumau Herownna Neru, Samoa

View of the room during the Informal discussions on Funding


Negotiating blocs
European Union