Highlights and images for 21 July 2016



The thirty-eighth session of the Open-Ended Working Group of the Montreal Protocol (OEWG 38) resumed on 21 July 2016, in Vienna, Austria.

In the morning, delegates convened in plenary to hear updates on outstanding agenda items. The HFC Management Contact Group met throughout the day.

In the late afternoon, OEWG 38 closing plenary convened. Due to OEWG 38 being unable to conclude its work, the meeting was suspended at 5:45 pm. Discussions on HFC Management will be held in parallel to third Extraordinary Meeting of the Parties to the Montreal Protocol (ExMOP 3), which convenes on 22 July 2016.

In the evening, the Government of Austria hosted a reception.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, has provided daily web coverage, daily reports and also produced a summary and analysis report from the Resumed OEWG 37, OEWG 38 and ExMOP 3, which is available in HTML and PDF format.
Photos by IISD/ENB | Mike Muzurakis
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

From L-R: Tina Birmpili, Executive Secretary, Ozone Secretariat; Abdulbasit Sairafi, Saudi Arabia; Yaqoub Al-Matouq, Kuwait; Hamoud Al-Otaibi, Saudi Arabia; and Iftikhar-ul-Hassan Gilani, Pakistan

Philippe Chemouny, Canada

Taha Mohammed Zatari, Saudi Arabia

Blaise Horisberger, Switzerland

Iftikhar-ul-Hassan Gilani, Pakistan

Yaqoob Al Harti, Oman

Cindy Newberg, US

From L-R: Yaqoub Al-Matouq, Kuwait; Taha Mohammed Zatari, Saudi Arabia; HFC Management Contact Group Co-Chair ​Patrick McInerney​, Australia; John Thompson, US; and HFC Management Contact Group Co-Chair Xia Yingxian, China

Cornelius Rhein, European Union (EU), and Obed Baloyi, South Africa

Zhou Xiaofang, China

Brian Ruddie, UK, with Saleh Al-Amir, Saudi Arabia

From L-R: Hamoud Al-Otaibi, Saudi Arabia; Catherine Wahlén and Anna Schulz, IISD Reporting Services

From L-R: Marine Collignon, France; Béatrice Vincent, France; Justina Adomaviciute, UK; Mikkel Adaman Sørensen, Denmark; and Philip Owen, EU

Laura Juliana Arciniegas, Colombia

G. M. J. K. Gunawardana, Sri Lanka

Enoh Peter Ayuk, Cameroon

Sylla Cheikh Ndiaye and Reine Marie Coly Badiane, Senegal

HFC Management Contact Group Co-Chairs ​Patrick McInerney​, Australia, and Xia Yingxian, China

From L-R: Mubarak Mohammed Bin Daine, Bahrain; Hassan Ali Mubarak, Bahrain; and Yaqoub Al-Matouq, Kuwait

High Level Assembly organized by the Climate and Clean Air Coalition (CCAC)

Gina McCarthy, Administrator, US Environmental Protection Agency

Xavier Sticker, Ambassador for the Environment, France

Arlete Sombo-Dibele, Minister for the Environment, Central African Republic

Miguel Arias Cañete, European Commissioner for Energy and Climate

Ahmad Qatarneh, Secretary General, Ministry for the Environment, Jordan

Jan Olsson, Ambassador for the Environment and Oceans, Sweden, and Ibrahim Thiaw, Deputy Executive Director, UN Environment Programme (UNEP)

Catherine McKenna, Minister for the Environment and Climate Change, Canada, and CCAC Co-Chair Rita Cerutti, Canada

Kari-Anne Isaksen, Norway

Ibrahim Thiaw, Deputy Executive Director, UNEP

Fernando Farías, Chile

Lars Andreas Lunde, State Secretary, Norwegian Ministry of Climate and Environment, Norway

Benjamin Deh-Deh, Côte d'Ivoire

Pastor Vera Bejarano, Paraguay

Norbert Kurilla, State Secretary, Ministry for the Environment, Slovakia

Vincent Biruta, Minister for Natural Resources, Rwanda

Reception hosted by the government of Austria

From L-R: Eduardo Ganem, Multilateral Fund for the Implementation of the Montreal Protocol; Tina Birmpili, Executive Secretary, Ozone Secretariat; Andrä Rupprechter, Minister for the Environment, Austria; Ibrahim Thiaw, Deputy Executive Director, UNEP

Andrä Rupprechter, Minister for the Environment, Austria

From L-R: Aminah Ali, Malaysia; G. M. J. K. Gunawardana, Sri Lanka; and Tsokhio Adiyasuren, Mongolia

Petra Hinterauer, Hungary, with Michelle Cortis, Malta

From L-R: Avipsa Mahapatra, Environmental Investigation Agency (EIA); Iftikhar-ul-Hassan Gilani, Pakistan; Husamuddin Ahmadzai, Sweden; and Iqbal Sheikh, Pakistan


Negotiating blocs
European Union