Highlights and images for 8 December 2016



IISD Reporting Services - COP 2016
On Thursday, WG I addressed: cooperation with other conventions and organizations; a global multilateral benefit-sharing mechanism under the Nagoya Protocol; and socioeconomic considerations, liability and redress, risk assessment and risk management, and unintentional transboundary movement of LMOs under the Cartagena Protocol. WG II approved without, or with minor discussion, conference room papers (CRPs) on sustainable wildlife management, UNPFII recommendations and climate-related geo-engineering. WG II further addressed marine debris and underwater noise, marine spatial planning, biodiversity in cold-water areas and pollinators.

The budget group met in the morning. Contact groups on resource mobilization, capacity building, the financial mechanism, synthetic biology and Article 8(j) met throughout the day.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, has provided daily web coverage, daily reports and a summary and analysis report from the UN Biodiversity Conference. The summary and analysis report is available in HTML and PDF.
Photos by IISD/ENB | Francis Dejon
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

Working Group I

Chair Mette Gervin Damsgaard (Denmark) presiding over WG I

Micheline Dorcé Donnacien, IIFB

Pedro Rocha, Inter-American Institute for Cooperation
on Agriculture (IICA)

Cuauhtémoc Ochoa Fernández, Mexico

Elena Makeyeva, Belarus

Leo Maier, EU

Neimatullo Safarov, Tajikistan

Véronique Amari, Côte d'Ivoire

Yousef Saleh Al-Hafedh, Saudi Arabia

Goote Voigt-Hanssen, Norway

Christine Echookit Akello, Uganda

Letchumanan Ramatha, Malaysia

Claudio Chiarolla, World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)

Kent Nnadozie, Secretary, International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture (ITPGR)

Working Group II

L-R: Robert Höft, CBD Secretariat and WG II Chair Malta Qwathekana (South Africa)

Reneé Sauvé, Canada

Alain De Comarmond, Seychelles

Adam van Opzeeland, New Zealand

Ana María Hernández Salgar, Colombia

Karma Nyedrup, Bhutan

Esther Shushu Makwaia, Tanzania

Akram Eissa Darwich

L-R: Augusto Manuel Pinto and Marcal Gusmao, Timor-Leste

L-R: Marco Vinicio Araya, Pamela Castillo, and Zdenka Piskulich, Costa Rica

L-R: Eleni Tokaduadua, Alisi Rabukawaqa,
and Alfred Ralifo, Fiji

L-R: Victor Canton, Anna Laura Mello, and Alejandro Nario Carvalho, Uruguay

L-R: Sarat Babu Gidda, CBD Secretariat, in conversation with Umair Shahid, Pakistan

L-R: Daniela Diz, IISD RS, discussing marine issues with Alexander Shestakov, Russian Federation

Contact Groups

Contact group on traditional knowledge

COP 13 participants waiting to enter the contact group on synthetic biology

COP 13 Snapshots

L-R: Ailis Rego, Charles Gbedemah, Michele Rattray, CBD Secretariat,
waiting for the
Committee to start its session

CBD Executive Secretary
Braulio Ferreira de Souza Dias

Youth participants consulting

Nader Ibrahim, CBD Secretariat, with youngest COP 13 participant
Theodore Sinatra, Mexico

L-R: Daniela Hernández Orozco, Daniel Goycochea Rodríguez,
and Alejandra Guzman Olguín, Mexico


Negotiating blocs
European Union
Non-state coalitions