Highlights and images for 5 December 2016



IISD Reporting Services - COP 2016
On Monday morning, plenary heard statements from participants and high-level representatives, including the President of Mexico. In the afternoon, WG I reviewed progress towards implementation of the Strategic Plan for Biodiversity 2011-2020 and achievement of the Aichi Targets. WG II addressed issues related to marine and coastal biodiversity, including ecologically or biologically significant marine areas, biodiversity and acidification in cold-water areas, marine debris and underwater noise, and marine spatial planning; and started deliberations on invasive alien species.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, has provided daily web coverage, daily reports and a summary and analysis report from the UN Biodiversity Conference. The summary and analysis report is available in HTML and PDF.
Photos by IISD/ENB | Francis Dejon
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.


L-R: David Cooper, Deputy Executive Secretary, CBD Secretariat; Tia Stevens, Australia, on behalf of COP 13 President;
and CBD Executive Secretary Braulio Ferreira de Souza Dias

Laetitia Navarro, Executive Secretary, Group on Earth
Observation Network

Inger Andersen, Director-General, IUCN

Lily Rodriguez, International Union of Biological Sciences (IUBS), speaking on behalf of the Science Biodiversity Forum

Eva Ursula Müller, Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN (FAO)

L-R: Ibrahim Thiaw, Deputy Executive Director, UN Environment; Enrique Peña Nieto, President of Mexico; CBD Executive Secretary Braulio Ferreira de Souza Dias; and Rafael Pacchiano Alamán, COP 13 President

Carlos Manuel Joaquín González, Governor of the State of Quintana Roo, Mexico

Rafael Pacchiano Alamán, COP 13 President

Ibrahim Thiaw, Deputy Executive Director, UN Environment

CBD Executive Secretary Braulio Ferreira de Souza Dias

Enrique Peña Nieto, President of Mexico

Working Group I

WG I Chair Mette Gervin Damsgaard (Denmark)

WG I dais

Khalid Lalami, Morocco

Hesiquio Benitez Diaz, Mexico

Theresa Mundita Lim, the Philippines

Zaninka Peninnah, International Indigenous Forum on Biodiversity (IIFB)

Alfred Oteng-Yeboah
, Ghana

Maja Stade Aarønæs, Norway

Emmanuel Bayani Ngoyi, Gabon

Working Group II

WG II dais

L-R: Robert Höft, CBD Secretariat and WG II Chair Malta Qwathekana (South Africa)

Clarissa Nina, Brazil

Ilham Atho Mohamed, Maldives

Enny Sudar-Monowati, Indonesia

Alexander Shestakov, the Russian Federation

Branislav Hrabkovský, EU

COP 13 Snapshots

Coalition of the Willing on Pollinators launched by the Netherlands

Delegates from Portugal

Biodiversity Conference bags


Negotiating blocs
European Union