Highlights and images for 17 December 2016



IISD Reporting Services - COP 2016
On Saturday, 17 December, Working Groups met in the morning to address outstanding items, including on the guidelines on prior informed consent and benefit-sharing from the use of traditional knowledge, and adopt their reports. An afternoon plenary addressed organizational matters and adopted decisions on all substantive agenda items. At 6 pm plenary was suspended to allow for the budget negotiations to conclude. It is expected to reconvene at 9:30 pm.

Update 00:20 am: Budget negotiations continue, plenary to resume at 1:30 am
Update 03:00 am: Plenary still awaits the outcome of budget negotiations
Update 04:15 am: Plenary still waiting
Update 04:50 am: Plenary resumes
Update 05:03 am: Plenary was gavelled to a close

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, has provided daily web coverage, daily reports and a summary and analysis report from the UN Biodiversity Conference. The summary and analysis report is available in HTML and PDF.
Photos by IISD/ENB | Francis Dejon
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

Working Group I

WG I Chair Mette Gervin Damsgaard (Denmark) at the conclusion of WG I deliberations

Anna Takombwa, Zimbabwe

Felipe Costa, Brazil

Federico Galloni, Argentina

Sepali De Silva, Dominica

Yousef Al-Hafedh, Saudi Arabia

Bongani Zipho Nkhabindze, Swaziland

Christian Prip, Fridtjof Nansen Institute (FNI), Norway

Mohamed Elmi Obsieh, Djibouti

Delegates from Switzerland consulting

L-R: Andy Stott and Holly Kelley-Weil, UK

L-R: Wadzi Goredema-Mandivenyi and Natalie Feltman, South Africa

L-R: Christine von Weizsäcker and Antje Lorch, ECOROPA

Working Group II

WG II Chair Malta Qwathekana (South Africa) at the conclusion of WG II deliberations

Albun William Banye Lemnyuy, Cameroon

Diego Pacheco Balanza, Bolivia

Maria Eugenia Choque Quispe, UN Permanent Forum
Issues (UNPFII)

Mitzi Gurgel Valente da Costa, Brazil

Delegates from Madagascar

Participants from WG II consulting

Asghar Mohammadi Fazel, Iran

Amita Prasad, India

Adem Bilgin, Turkey

L-R: WG II Chair Malta Qwathekana (South Africa) and WG I Chair Mette Gervin Damsgaard (Denmark)


CBD Executive Secretary Braulio Ferreira de Souza Dias

Rafael Pacchiano Alamán, COP 13 President

Elizabeth Mrema, UNEP

David Cooper, Deputy Executive Secretary, CBD

Maria Luisa Angelica Del Rio Mispireta, Peru

Fumiko Nakao, Japan

Alexander Shestakov, the Russian Federation

Habib Gademi, Dominica

Rastislav Rybanič, EU

Moustafa Mokhtar Ali Fouda, Egypt

Lucy Mulenkei, International Indigenous Forum on Biodiversity, (IIFB)

José Luis Echeverría Tello, Guatemala

Participants from the Global Youth Biodiversity Network (GYBN)

Cancun Children's Choir entertaining COP 13 participants

Delegates from Africa consulting

COP 13 Snapshots

CBD Secretariat staff

CBD Executive Secretary Braulio Ferreira de Souza Dias, with ENB/IISD Reporting Services team

CBD Secretariat with UN and local staff

Rafael Pacchiano Alamán, COP 13 President, enjoying the Mariachi entertainment while waiting

Traditional Mexican Mariachi band

Delegates from Australia and New Zealand

Delegates from Mexico

Delegates from ETC Group, Econexus, Federation of German Scientists, and Friends of the Earth International


Negotiating blocs
European Union
Non-state coalitions