Highlights and images for 2 May 2018



The Bonn Climate Change Conference continued on Wednesday. Among the day’s key issues was the opening meeting of the Talanoa Dialogue, a global conversation about the efforts to combat climate change involving both parties and non-party stakeholders.

Another important theme was the the Paris Agreement Work Programme (PAWP), scheduled for completion at COP 24 in December. Topics discussed during the day included mitigation and Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs), adaptation, global stocktake, and finance.

A number of negotiating groups also met to discuss issues on the Subsidiary Body for Scientific and Technological Advice (SBSTA) and the Subsidiary Body for Implementation (SBI) agendas. In addition, the Suva Expert Dialogue was organized, focusing on issues related to loss and damage. A workshop on Climate Change and Gender also took place.

For extensive details on the day’s negotiations and to hear what delegates said in the corridors, see our daily Earth Negotiations Bulletin.

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, provided daily digital coverage, daily reports, daily videos, and a summary and analysis report from the Bonn Climate Change Conference - April/May 2018.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Kiara Worth
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

Opening Meeting of the Talanoa Dialogue for Climate Ambition

View of the dais during the opening meeting of the Talanoa Dialogue

UNFCCC Executive Secretary Patricia Espinosa and Inia Seruiratu, Minister of Agriculture, Rural and Maritime Development and National Disaster Management, and High-Level Climate Champion, Fiji

Luke Daunivalu, COP 23 Presidency, Fiji, and Tomasz Chruszczow, COP 24 Presidency, Poland

Ayman Shasly, Saudi Arabia, speaking on behalf of the Arab Group

Wael Aboulmagd, Egypt, speaking on behalf of the G-77/China

Gebru Jember, Ethiopia, speaking on behalf of the Least Developed Countries (LDCs)

Juan Carlos Arredondo Brun, Mexico, speaking on behalf of the Environmental Integrity Group (EIG)

Simon Cardy, South Africa

Ravi Prasad, India

Özlem Ergün Ulueren, Turkey

Laura Juliana Arciniegas Rojas, Colombia, speaking on behalf of the Independent Association of Latin America and the Caribbean (AILAC)

Emma Clemens, Youth NGOs (YOUNGOs)

Hitoshi Suzuki, Trade Union NGOs (TUNGOs)

Majda Dabaghi, Business NGOs (BINGOs)

Anne Olhoff, UNEP DTU Partnership

Jim Skea, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)

Hindou Oumarou Ibrahim, Civil Society Representative

Anirban Ghosh, Mahindra Group

SBI Gender In-Session Workshop

Participants during the SBI gender in-session workshop

Lisa Gittos, Australia

Jeniffer Collado, Dominican Republic

Elias Abourizk, Canada

Gotelind Alber, Gender CC - Women for Climate Justice

Technical Expert Meeting - Mitigation

Participants during the Technical Expert Meeting (TEM) focused on mitigation

Jean-Pierre Maugendre, Suez Environnement

Inês Santos Costa, Ministry of Environment, Portugal

Preeti Srivastav, Ecofys

Sunandan Tiwari, ICLEI - Local Governments for Sustainability

Araceli Fernandez Pales, International Energy Agency (IEA)

Special Briefing on the Global Climate Action Summit

Delegates attend the special briefing on the Global Climate Action Summit

Anirban Ghosh, Mahindra Group

UNFCCC Executive Secretary Patricia Espinosa 

Nick Nuttall, Global Climate Action Summit

Suva Expert Dialogue

View of the dais during the Suva Expert Dialogue

Luke Daunivalu, COP 23 Presidency, Fiji

SBI Chair Emmanuel Dlamini, Swaziland

Erling Kvernevik, Executive Committee of the Warsaw International Mechanism on Loss and Damage (WIM ExCom) Co-Chair, Norway

Musonda Mumba, UN Environment Programme (UNEP)

Vhalinavho Khavhagali, Executive Committee of the WIM ExCom Co-Chair, South Africa

A word cloud produced during the session demonstrates how delegates are most affected by climate change

Participants discuss loss and damage in break-out groups

Around the Venue

Tomasz Chruszczow, COP 24 Presidency, Poland, and Claudio Forner, UNFCCC Secretariat

Talieh Wögerbauer, Austria

UNFCCC Executive Secretary Patricia Espinosa

Yunus Arikan and Carlos David Jacome Polit, ICLEI

William Agyemang-Bonsu, UNFCCC Secretariat, Carlos Fuller, Belize, and Kishan Kumarsingh, Trinidad and Tobago

Delegates between sessions

Rob Bradley, NDC Partnership