Highlights and images for 9 November 2016



The fifty-second session of the International Tropical Timber Council (ITTC-52) continued its deliberations in Yokohama, Japan on 9 November 2016. In the morning, delegates met in the Council to discuss the Biennial Work Programme (BWP) and the implementation of the Thematic Programmes. The Council also held its first special vote on the election of the next Executive Director (ED), which produced no winner, as none of the six candidates met the required threshold for number of countries and votes from both Producers and Consumers.

In the afternoon, the Council met in a closed session to discuss the legal implications and measures related to ITTO investments that led to the impairment of funds, including legal action initiated against the investment advisor. Delegates then convened a Joint Committee Session to examine the Report of the Expert Panel for Technical Appraisal of Project Proposals and hear ex-post evaluations of completed projects, followed by the Annual Market Discussion for 2016 under the theme “Free Trade Agreements - Challenges and Opportunities for the Tropical Timber Trade.”

In the evening, the Commiittee on Finance and Administration (CFA) met to discuss draft revisions of ITTO Financial Rules and Procedures, Audit Standards, and relevant Staff Regulations and Rules.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, provided daily digital coverage and a summary and analysis report of the 52nd Session of the ITTC and Associated Sessions of the Committees. The summary and analysis report is available in HTML and PDF format.

Council Session

L-R: Tabi Agyarko, Vice-Chair of ITTC-52; Jennifer Conje, Chair of ITTC-52;
and Steven Johnson, Officer-in-Charge, ITTO Secretariat

Teguh Rahardja, Indonesia

Jill Hanna, EU

Fernando Perdigão, Brazil

Alicia Grimes, US

L-R: Raul Briz; Louie Belleza and Ray Thomas Kabigting, the Philippines

L-R: Carolyn Guy, New Zealand, in conversation with Arturo García Tenorio
and Jorge Pedro Flores Marker, Mexico

Anna Tyler, New Zealand, Consumer caucus spokesperson

Eheth Ongmanong Victoire, Cameroon, Producer caucus spokeperson

Joint Committee Session

Valéria Rigueira, Brazil

Tabi Agyarko, Vice-Chair of ITTC-52

Pralong Dumrongthai, Thailand

John Leigh, Peru

Matthias Schwoerer
, Germany

L-R: Achille Orphée Lokossou and Françoise Zohoncon Worou, Benin

L-R: Takeshi Goto and Tetra Yanuariadi, ITTO Secretariat

L-R: Jorge Malleux, Peru and Barney Chan, Trade Advisory Group

L-R: Labode Popoola, University of Ibadan, Nigeria; André de Boer, European Timber Trade Federation;
Jorge Malleux, Peru and Barney Chan, Trade Advisory Group

L-R: Erik Fischer Llanos, Exporters Association (ADEX), Peru; Joseph O'Donnell, International Wood Products Association; Jirawat Tangkijngamwong, Thai Timber Association; Enrique Téllez Pacheco, National Chamber of the Wood Industry, Mexico;
Frances Maplesden, ITTO Consultant; and Michael Adams, ITTO Consultant

Ruth Turia, Papua New Guinea

James Singh, Guyana

Maire, EU

Kwame Asumadu, Wood Panels International

Committee on Finance and Administration (CFA)

L-R: Mad Zaidi Mohd Karli, Malaysia, Vice-Chair of CFA; Rob Busink,
the Netherlands,
Chair of CFA; and Simon Kawaguchi, ITTO Secretariat;

Anne Schick, Switzerland

Stephanie McFadden O'Neill, US

Fernando Perdigão, Brazil, in conversation with Jill Hanna, EU

ITTC-52 Snapshots

Observers from the Yokohama Science Frontier High School


Negotiating blocs
European Union