Highlights and images for 8 November 2016



The fifty-second session of the International Tropical Timber Council (ITTC) entered its second day of discussions today in Yokohama, Japan.

In the morning, the Committee on Finance and Administration (CFA) discussed the approved biennial administrative budget for 2016-2017, contributions to the administrative budgets, the auditor's reports for the financial years 2014 and 2015, appointment of the auditor, the current status of the administrative account, and the resources for the Special Account and the Bali Partnership Fund.

In the afternoon, delegates met in a Council session to discuss the biennial review and assessment of the international timber situation in 2015–2016, and to decide whether to hold a special vote for the election of the Executive Director.

Later in the afternoon, the Committee on Reforestation and Forest Management (CRF) and the Committee on Economics, Statistics and Markets and the Committee on Forest Industry (CEM-CFI) met in parallel. The CRF discussed new projects and pre-projects, reviewed completed projects as well as policy work on: criteria and indicators for sustainable forest management; promoting the conservation, restoration and sustainable management of mangrove ecosystems; promoting the implementation of guidelines for the management of secondary tropical forests, the restoration of degraded tropical forests and the rehabilitation of degraded forest land; and ITTO guidelines to incorporate gender equity in the organization's activities, programmes and projects.The CEM-CFI discussed new projects and pre-projects, a report on completed projects and pre-projects and ex-post evaluation of projects.

In the evening a reception was held for delegates hosted by the ITTC-52 Chair, Jennifer Conje (US).

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, provided daily digital coverage and a summary and analysis report of the 52nd Session of the ITTC and Associated Sessions of the Committees. The summary and analysis report is available in HTML and PDF format.

Committee Session on Finance and Administration (CFA)

Dais during the session on finance and administration with L-R: Mad Zaidi Mohd Karli, Vice-Chair of CFA; Rob Busink, Chair of CFA; Simon Kawaguchi, ITTO Secretariat; Gerhard Breulmann, ITTO Secretariat; and Maiko Suzuki, ITTO Secretariat

Robert Nyarkoh, Ghana

Jill Hanna, EU

Simon Kawaguchi, ITTO Secretariat, presenting an overview of ITTO's accounts

Current ITTO auditors being questioned by ITTC delegate members

Hiroyuki Nishiura, Japan

Stephanie McFadden O'Neill, US

Carolyn Guy, New Zealand

Chen Hongying, China

Zhang Zhongtian, China

Jorge Malleux, Peru

L-R: John Leigh, Peru, in conversation with Freezailah Che Yeom, Malaysia

Council Session

Tabi Agyarko, Vice-Chair of ITTC-52

Jennifer Conje, Chair of ITTC-52

Frances Maplesden, ITTO Consultant, presented on elements for the Biennial
Review and Assessment of the World Timber Situation 2015-2016

Putera Parthama, Indonesia

Gabriel Dusava, Papua New Guinea

Álvaro Samayoa
, Guatemala

Katharina Kuehmayer, Austria, presented updates to the Credentials
Committee's report

Catherine Karr-Colque, US

Sarquis Buiainain Sarquis, Brazil

Carlos Moreno, UNCTAD Legal Adviser

Delegates from Latin America producer member countries, consulting

Delegates from Mexico casting their vote

Screenshot of the voting result where a simple majority was not reached to proceed to a special vote on election
of the Executive Director

Committee on Reforestation and Forest Management

View of a session on CRF

L-R: Hwan Ok-Ma, ITTO Secretariat; Marjukka Mähönen, Vice-Chair of CRF; and Nurudeen Iddrisu, Chair of CRF

Takeshi Goto, ITTO Secretariat

Hwan Ok-Ma, ITTO Secretariat

Nurudeen Iddrisu, Chair of CRF

Committee on Economics, Statistics and Markets (CEM) and Committee on Forest Industry (CFI)

View of a session on CEM and CFI

L-R: Akiko Nakano, Chair of CFI and Alicia Grimes, Chair of CEM

Valéria Rigueira, Brazil

ITTC-52 Snapshots

Photo exhibit of ITTO projects

L-R: Maki Omata; Theresa Boliko; Naho Tamura; Kanako Ishii, ITTO Secretariat, with invited market
discussion speaker Barney Chan

L-R: Hwan Ok-Ma, Alastair Sarre, and Charas Mayura, ITTO Secretariat

L-R: Katharina Kuehmayer, Austria; Kanako Ishii, ITTO Secretariat; and Debbie Davenport, IISD/ENB


Negotiating blocs
European Union