Highlights and images for 25 November 2018



Civil society action in the corridors of the Conference

On Sunday, Working Group I approved conference room papers (CRPs) on:

  • knowledge management under the Convention;
  • the ABS Clearing-House and information sharing;
  • operations and activities of the Biosafety Clearing-House;
  • communication under the Convention;
  • review mechanisms under the Convention;
  • compliance under the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety;
  • review of experience in holding concurrent meetings under the Convention and its Protocols; and
  • capacity building under the Cartagena Protocol.

Working Group II heard reports from contact groups, addressed biodiversity and climate change, and approved CRPs on:

  • transit and contained use of living modified organisms under the Cartagena Protocol; and
  • the Rutzolijirisaxik voluntary guidelines for repatriation of traditional knowledge.

An afternoon plenary heard reports, adopted numerous decisions, and witnessed a ceremony for the Clearing-House Mechanism awards.

Contact groups and Friends of the Chair groups met throughout the day to address: the budget; liability and redress under the Convention; Nagoya Protocol on access and benefit-sharing (ABS) Article 10 (global multilateral benefit-sharing mechanism); ecologically or biologically significant marine areas (EBSAs); resource mobilization and the financial mechanism; and socio-economic considerations under the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety. For more details on the day’s events and to hear what delegates said in the corridors, see our daily Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB).

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, has provided daily reports, daily web coverage, and a summary and analysis from the 2018 UN Biodiversity Conference.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Franz Dejon

For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

L-R: Jyoti Mathur-Filipp, CBD Secretariat; Hayo Haanstra (the Netherlands), Chair of Working Group I; and Manoela Pessoa de Miranda, CBD Secretariat
L-R: David Ainsworth, Erie Tamale, and Kata Koppel, CBD Secretariat
Ana María Hernández Salgar, Colombia
Maria Luisa Angelica Del Rio Mispireta, Peru
L-R: Alicja Kozlowska and Elfriede Anna More, EU
Aboubacar Oulare, Guinea
T. Rabikumar, India
Antje Lorch, ECOROPA
Maho Matsumoto, Japan
Larbi Sbaï, Morocco
Nonita Caguioa, the Philippines
Alejandra Barrios Pérez, Mexico
Li Lin Lim, Third World Network
Lactitia Tshitwamulomoni, South Africa
Christine Akello, Uganda
L-R: Victoria Romero and Sonia Peña Moreno, IUCN
Delegates from Egypt
L-R: Alexander Shestakov, CBD Secretariat; Clarissa Nina (Brazil), Chair of Working Group II; and Lisa Janishevski, CBD Secretariat
Hlobsile Sikhosana, Eswatini
Stephanie Mary Villaseñor, Costa Rica
Jesús Guerra Bell, Cuba
L-R: Anna Gureva and Duncan Borg, Malta
L-R: Ba Moussa and Diagana Mallé, Mauritania
Ta'hirih Hokafonu, Tonga
Sara Mashhadi Ali Akbar, Iran
Mamadou Diallo, Senegal
Ahmed Sabah, Iraq
Adam van Opzeeland, New Zealand
Adem Bilgin, Turkey
L-R: Worku Damena Yifru, CBD Secretariat; David Cooper, CBD Deputy Executive Secretary; COP 14 President Yasmine Fouad, Minister of Environment, Egypt; and Cristiana Paşca Palmer, CBD Executive Secretary
Cristiana Paşca Palmer, CBD Executive Secretary
COP 14 President Yasmine Fouad, Minister of Environment, Egypt
Marie-Claire Cordonier Segger, CISDL
Lily Rodriguez, International Union of Biological Sciences
L-R: Sheila Wertz-Kanounnikoff, UN Food and Agriculture Organization; Cathy Oke, ICLEI; and Ghanimat Azhdari, Cenesta
Gabriele Obermayr, Austria
Mitzi Gurgel Valente da Costa, Brazil
Gaute Voigt-Hanssen, Norway
Scott Wilson, Canada
Moment of silence for Olivier de Munck, CBD Secretariat
COP 14 CHM Award winners
David Cooper, CBD Deputy Executive Secretary, with delegates from the Caribbean
L-R: Cristiana Paşca Palmer, CBD Executive Secretary, and Theresa Mundita Lim, Executive Director, ASEAN Centre for Biodiversity (ACB), at the signing of the Memorandum of Cooperation between CBD and ACB
Delegates from Brazil
L-R: Anwar Abu Sakieneh, Jane Smart, and Dao Nguyen, IUCN
L-R: Martha Kandawa-Shultz and Lavinia Mbongo, Namibia
L-R: Odacy Davis, Patrick Chesney, Stacy Lord, Vincent Adams, and Diana Fernandes, Guyana
Civil society action in the corridors of the Conference