Highlights and images for 22–12 November 2018



Delegates in Working Group II in informal consultations

On Thursday, Working Group I addressed conference room papers (CRPs) on:

  • safeguards in biodiversity financing mechanisms;
  • methodological guidance concerning the contributions of indigenous peoples and local communities;
  • specialized international access and benefit-sharing (ABS) instruments;
  • capacity building, and technical and scientific cooperation under the Convention;
  • reporting, and assessment and review under the Convention and the Protocols;
  • tools to evaluate policy instruments for Strategic Plan implementation;
  • the financial mechanism under the Protocols;
  • awareness raising under the Nagoya Protocol; and
  • capacity building under the Nagoya Protocol.

Working Group II considered CRPs on:

  • unintentional transboundary movements of living modified organisms under the Cartagena Protocol;
  • the Supplementary Protocol on liability and redress;
  • liability and redress under the Convention;
  • sustainable wildlife management; and
  • Article 8(j).

An afternoon plenary addressed organizational matters and adopted decisions on:

  • assessment of progress towards selected Aichi targets;
  • the Gender Plan of Action;
  • health and biodiversity;
  • the date and venue of future COP meetings; and
  • assessment and review of the effectiveness of the Nagoya Protocol.

Contact groups met throughout the day to address: resource mobilization and the financial mechanism; socio-economic considerations under the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety; synthetic biology; ecologically or biologically significant marine areas (EBSAs); and risk assessment under the Cartagena Protocol.For more details on the day’s events and to hear what delegates said in the corridors, see our daily Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB).

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, has provided daily reports, daily web coverage, and a summary and analysis from the 2018 UN Biodiversity Conference.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Franz Dejon

For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

L-R: Jyoti Mathur-Filipp, CBD Secretariat; Hayo Haanstra (the Netherlands), Chair of Working Group I; and John Scott, CBD Secretariat
Valerie Normand, CBD Secretariat
John Scott, CBD Secretariat
L-R: Laura Rodríguez Codallos, Edda Fernández Luiselli, Valerie Cruz Blancas, and Alejandra Barrios Pérez, Mexico
Vienna Pozer, Canada
Laure Ledoux, EU
L-R: Christine Akello and Kagumaho Kakuyo, Uganda
Emmanuel Bayani Ngoyi, Gabon
Jeanette Florita, the Philippines
Nenenteiti Teariki-Ruatu, Kiribati
Odacy Davis, Guyana
Joon-woo Seo, Republic of Korea
Abdirizak Mohammud, Somalia
Larbi Sbaï, Morocco
Rosemary Paterson, New Zealand
Maxwell Mendoza, Venezuela
Barbara De Rosa-Joynt, US
Jerry Harrison, UNEP World Conservation Monitoring Centre
Lyle Glowka, Convention on Migratory Species
L-R: Lactitia Tshitwamulomoni and Wadzi Mandivenyi, South Africa
L-R: Alexander Shestakov, CBD Secretariat; Clarissa Nina (Brazil), Chair of Working Group II; and Manoela Pessoa de Miranda, CBD Secretariat
Catalina Santamaria, CBD Secretariat
Worku Damena Yifru, CBD Secretariat
Alexander Shestakov, CBD Secretariat
Delegates from Working Group II in informal consultations
L-R: Sujata Arora, Sanchita Chaudhary, Satya Gidda, and B. Meenakumari, India
Manrique Altavista, Argentina
Mitzi Gurgel Valente da Costa, Brazil
Suwigaya Utama, Indonesia
Sara Mashhadi Ali Akbar, Iran
L-R: Fabiana Spinelli, Paula Scarone, Peter Deupmann, and Manoela Pessoa de Miranda, CBD Secretariat
Ana Laura Mello, Uruguay
Sorka Copa Romero, Bolivia
Bayarkhuu Sandagdorj, Mongolia
Hoang Thi Thanh Nhan, Viet Nam
L-R: Worku Damena Yifru, CBD Secretariat; David Cooper, CBD Deputy Executive Secretary; COP 14 President Yasmine Fouad, Minister of Environment, Egypt; and Cristiana Paşca Palmer, CBD Executive Secretary
Cristiana Paşca Palmer, CBD Executive Secretary
COP 14 President Yasmine Fouad, Minister of Environment, Egypt
Charlotta Sörqvist, Sweden
Spencer Thomas, Grenada
L-R: Basma Saif Al-Amri, Saleh Al-Saadi, and Salim Samir, Oman
Majlis Community Lounge of the UNDP-GEF Small Grants Programme
L-R: Hussein Marai and Aisha Mohammed, artisans and weavers from Southern Egypt
Anna Ali Gamec, local artist
L-R: Marcos Regis Da Silva, Inter-American Institute for Global Change Research; Lily Rodriguez, International Union of Biological Sciences; and Yves Zinngrebe, Göttingen University, Germany
L-R: Balakrishna Pisupati, Forum for Law, Environment, Development and Governance (FLEDGE); Timothy Hodges, McGill University; Suneetha Subramanian, UN University; and B. Meenakumari, India
L-R: Gwen Sisior, Palau, and Nenenteiti Teariki-Ruatu, Kiribati
L-R: Tamara Thomas, The Nature Conservancy, and Mae Bruton-Adams, Micronesia



Negotiating blocs
European Union