Highlights and images for 19 May 2016



On Thursday, the Bonn Climate Change Conference continued with a workshop on gender-responsive climate policy. In the afternoon, the Fourth Dialogue on Action for Climate Empowerment and the Eighth Research Dialogue were held. Throughout the day, several informal consultations convened under the Subsidiary Body for Scientific and Technological Advice (SBSTA) and Subsidiary Body for Implementation (SBI). In the afternoon, informal consultations on the agenda for the Ad Hoc Working Group on the Paris Agreement (APA) convened.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, has providing daily web coverage, daily reports from the Bonn Climate Change Conference - May 2016. In adiition, IISD Reportaing Services has also published a summary and analysis report from this meeting, which is available in HTML and PDF format.
Photos by IISD/ENB | Kiara Worth
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

SBI Workshop on Gender-Responsive Climate Policy

Delegates gather for the SBI workshop on gender-responsive climate policy

Winnie Lichuma, Kenya

Lorena Aguilar, Costa Rica

Breakout group on implementing agencies and civil society at national and sub-national levels

Breakout group on finance

Breakout group on UNFCCC Secretariat and the UN System

Breakout group on UNFCCC policy makers and implementers

Anniete Cohn-Los, Dominican Republic

Juan Hoffmaister, Green Climate Fund (GCF)

Aira Kalela, Finland

Bridget Burns, Women's Environment and Development
and Organization (WEDO)

Notes taken during the workshop

A delegate takes notes during one of the breakout group discussions

SBI Fourth Dialogue on Action for Climate Empowerment

View of the dais during the final session of the SBI Fourth Dialogue on Action for Climate Empowerment

UNFCCC Executive Secretary
Christiana Figueres

Ashok-Alexander Sridharan, Lord Mayor of the City of Bonn, Germany

SBI Chair Tomasz Chruszczow, Poland

Julio Cordano Sagredo, Chile

Christoffer Grønstad, Norway

Felipe Osses, Chile

Alejandro Rivera Becerra, Mexico

Penda Kante-Thiam, Senegal

SBSTA Research Dialogue

Delegates during the SBSTA Research Dialogue

Carolin Richter, Global Observing System for Climate (GCOS)

SBSTA Chair Carlos Fuller, Belize

Andrew Matthews,
Asia-Pacific Network (APN)

David Carlson, World Climate Research Programme (WCRP)

IPCC Working Group I Co-Chair
Panmao Zhai, China

Espen Ronneberg, Secretariat of the Pacific Regional
Environment Programme (SPREP)

Maxx Dilley, World Meteorological Organization (WMO)

Participants engage in a poster session as part of the SBSTA research dialogue

Around the Venue

Delegates between sessions

Angelina Ama Tutuah Mensah, Ghana; Stella Gama, Malawi;
and Lydia Obenewa Essuah, Ghana

Abdullah K. Tawlah, Saudi Arabia, with Kimo Goree, Vice President, International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD)

Florin Vladu, Adaptation Programme Manager, UNFCCC; Eduardo Calvo Buendía, IPCC Task Force Bureau Co-Chair; Edwin Castellanos, Guatemala; and Pascal Girot, Costa Rica

Enrique Gabriel Maurtua Konstantinidis, Climate Action Network (CAN), and Raju Pandit Chhetri, Nepal

Briefings held in preparation for COP 22/CMP 12

Delegates from Sudan

Lyn Rudder and Fleur Newman, UNFCCC Secretariat

Outi Leskelä, Nordic Council of Ministers, and Laura Merrill, International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD)

Filming during a session