Highlights and images for 17 May 2016



The Bonn Climate Change Conference continued on Tuesday morning with the opening of the Ad Hoc Working Group on the Paris Agreement (APA) and a Subsidiary Body for Scientific and Technological Advice (SBSTA) informal consultation. In the afternoon, several contact groups and informal consultations under the SBSTA and Subsidiary Body for Implementation (SBI) convened. The SBI and SBSTA plenaries resumed to hear opening statements and consider outstanding agenda items. A SBSTA workshop on types of revegetation activities potentially eligible as Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) project activities also took place in the afternoon.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, has providing daily web coverage, daily reports from the Bonn Climate Change Conference - May 2016. In adiition, IISD Reportaing Services has also published a summary and analysis report from this meeting, which is available in HTML and PDF format.
Photos by IISD/ENB | Kiara Worth
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

APA Opening Plenary

Richard Kinley, UNFCCC Deputy Executive Secretary, UNFCCC Executive Secretary Christiana Figueres, and Laurence Tubiana, COP 21/CMP 11 Presidency, applaud the election of the new APA Co-Chairs

APA Co-Chair Sarah Baashan, Saudi Arabia

APA Co-Chair Jo Tyndall, New Zealand

Laurence Tubiana, COP 21/
CMP 11 Presidency

Zamba Batjargal, Mongolia

María Laura Rojas Vallejo, Colombia, speaking on behalf of the Independent Alliance of Latin America and the Carribean (AILAC)

Manasvi Srisodapol, Thailand, speaking
on behalf of the G-77/China

Ivo de Zwaan, EU

Patrick Suckling, Australia, speaking
on behalf of the Umbrella Group

Rosilena Lindo, Panama, speaking
on behalf of the Coalition for
Rainforest Nations (CfRN)

Hussein Alfa Nafo, Mali, speaking on behalf of the African Group

Franz Perrez, Switzerland, speaking
on behalf of the Environmental
Integrity Group (EIG)

Isabel Teresa Di Carlo Quero, Venezuela, speaking on behalf
of the Bolivarian Alliance for the Peoples of Our America (ALBA)

Olga Vavilonskaya, Belarus

Tunga Bhadra Rai,
Indigenous Peoples

Norine Kennedy, Business and Industry NGOs (BINGOs)

Anabella Rosemberg, Trade Union NGOs (TUNGOs)

SBI Plenary

View of the dais during the SBI plenary

UNFCCC Executive Secretary Christiana Figueres

SBI Chair Tomasz Chruszczow, Poland

Lydie-Line Paroz, Youth NGOs (YOUNGOs)

Inga Fritzen Buan,
Climate Action Network (CAN)

Franziska Loibl, Women and Gender

SBI Vice-Chair Zhihua Chen, China

Tosi Mpanu-Mpanu, Democratic Republic of the Congo

SBSTA Plenary

View of the dais during the SBSTA plenary

SBSTA Chair Carlos Fuller, Belize

Alejandro Rivera, Mexico

Marilyn Averill, Research and Independent NGOs (RINGOs)

Katherine Sawyer, Climate Justice Now! (CJN!)

Contact Groups

SBSTA/SBI joint contact group on the scope of the next periodic review of the long-term global goal
under the Convention, and of overall progress towards achieving it

SBI contact group on arrangements for intergovernmental meetings

SBI/SBSTA joint contact group on impact of the implementation of response measures: improved forum and work programme

SBSTA In-Session Workshop

Panel speakers for a SBSTA in-session workshop to identify the types of revegetation activities
potentially eligible as project activities under the CDM

Co-Chair Maya Hunt, New Zealand

Co-Chair José Antonio Prado, Chile

Ivan Dario Valencia, Colombia

Belinda Margono, Indonesia

Around the Venue

Delegates gather in the foyer before the start of plenary

Delegates meet informally

El Hadji Mbaye Diagne and Mamadou Diobe Gueye, Senegal

Delegates from Norway

Translation headsets

Delegates between sessions

A delegate looks at a photography
exhibition about COP 21/CMP 11

Heinz Sturm, International Clean Energy Partnership Foundation, test drives a 'zero emissions' car on display at the venue