Highlights and images for 8 April 2016



The thirty-seventh meeting of the Open-ended Working Group (OEWG 37) of the Parties to the Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer convened for its final day on Friday, 8 April 2016, in Geneva, Switzerland.

In the morning, plenary discussed the report by the Technology and Economic Assessment Panel (TEAP) on information on alternatives to ODS. The TEAP updated participants on its informal discussions on the report, informing participants that it will finalize a report for OEWG 38 based on suggestions at OEWG 37 and additional findings and updates that may become available.

The Co-Chairs of the Contact Group on the Feasibility and Ways of Managing Hydrofluorocarbons (HFC Management Contact Group) gave a brief report of progress. OEWG 37 then adjourned for informal discussions among parties, which continued into the evening.

OEWG37 is suspended at 12:40 am, and will be resumed prior to OEWG38 at a date still to be decided.

IISD Reporting Services will produce a summary and analysis report of the 37th OEWG on Monday, 11 April 2016.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage,provided daily web coverage from the 37th OEWG. In addition, IISD Reporting Services has producd a summary and analysis report of the 37th OEWG, which is available in HTML and PDF formats.
Photos by IISD/ENB | Mike Muzurakis
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

Delegates from the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) countries conferring during the evening

HFCs Management Contact Group Co-Chairs ​Patrick McInerney​, Australia, and Xia Yingxian, China

From L-R: Hamoud Al-Otaibi, Saudi Arabia; Abdelrahim Mohamed Al Hammadi, United Arab Emirates (UAE); Tina Birmpili, Executive Secretary, Ozone Secretariat; Hassan Ali Mubarak, Bahrain; and Yaqoub Al-Matouq, Kuwait

Claudia Paratori Cortés, Chile, and Laura Juliana Arciniegas, Colombia, discussing with other GRULAC delegates

OEWG 37 Co-Chair Paul Krajnik, Austria

HFCs Management Contact Group Co-Chair ​ Xia Yingxian, China

Iftikhar-ul-Hassan Gilani, Pakistan

HFCs Management Contact Group Co-Chair Xia Yingxian, China, with Tina Birmpili, Executive Secretary, Ozone Secretariat

Richard Duke, US, with Taha Zatari, Saudi Arabia

Emma Rachmawaty, Indonesia

Sergey Vasiliev, the Russian Federation

HFC Management Contact Group Co-Chair ​Patrick McInerney​, Australia

From L-R: Tina Birmpili, Executive Secretary, Ozone Secretariat; Gilbert Bankobeza, Ozone Secretariat; OEWG 37 Co-Chair Paul Krajnik, Austria; OEWG 37 Co-Chair Leslie Smith, Grenada; and Megumi Seki, Ozone Secretariat

Ghazi Al Odat, Jordan, with, Ahmed El Korashy, Egypt

Delegates from the UAE and Kuwait

John Thompson, US

Philip Owen, European Union (EU)

Taha Mohammed Zatari, Saudi Arabia

Delegates from the GCC countries