Highlights and images for 4 April 2016



The thirty-seventh meeting of the Open-ended Working Group (OEWG 37) of the Parties to the Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer began on Monday, 4 April 2016, in Geneva, Switzerland.

In the morning, plenary opened with a moment of silence to recognize the efforts of the late Mostafa Tolba (Egypt) in bringing the Vienna Convention “to life.” Participants also heard an opening statement from the Ozone Executive Secretary, Tina Birmpili, who underscored that the sole focus of OEWG 37 is to move forward on the implementation of the Dubai Pathway on hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs). OEWG 37 then dealt with organizational matters, followed by a presentation on the Technology and Economic Assessment Panel (TEAP) report on information on alternatives to ozone-depleting substances (ODS). Parties responded, seeking clarification on issues and suggesting future areas of work for the TEAP.

In the afternoon, the Contact Group on the Feasability and Ways of Managing HFCs (HFCs Management Contact Group) resumed, focusing their discussion on key challenges and proposed solutions to the phase-out of HFCs.

In the evening, delegates attened a reception hosted by the Ozone Secretariat.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage,provided daily web coverage from the 37th OEWG. In addition, IISD Reporting Services has producd a summary and analysis report of the 37th OEWG, which is available in HTML and PDF formats.
Photos by IISD/ENB | Mike Muzurakis
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

Rafael Da Soler, Brazil

Iftikhar-ul-Hassan Gilani, Pakistan

Tina Birmpili, Executive Secretary, Ozone Secretariat

HFC Management Contact Group Co-Chair ​Patrick McInerney​, Australia

View of the dais during the morning session

Sergey Vasiliev, the Russian Federation

Roberto Peixoto​, TEAP Member, Brazil

Lambert Kuijpers, TEAP Member, the Netherlands

Delegates from Nigeria

Jacques Van Engel, UN Development Programme (UNDP), with Abdul-Kazeem Kasimu Bayero, Nigeria

Montreal Protocol OEWG 37 observes a minute of silence for the passing of Mostafa Kamal Tolba.

Lucie Desforges, Canada

Manoj Kumar Singh, India

John Thompson, US

Samuel Pare, Burkina Faso

Benjamin Deh-Deh, Côte D'Ivoire

Igzobel Castro, Venezuela

Taha Mohammed Zatari, Saudi Arabia

OEWG 37 Co-Chairs Paul Krajnik, Austria, and Leslie Smith, Grenada

Yaqoub Al-Matouq, Kuwait, with Hassan Ali Mubarak, Bahrain

Ismael Nour, Djibouti

Reine Marie Coly Badiane, Senegal, with Shamila Nair-Bedouelle, UN Environment Programme (UNEP)

Participants networking during the lunch break

Emma Rachmawaty, Indonesia

Philip Owen, European Union (EU)

Emmanuel Nyaka, Sierra Leone

Around the venue

Reception hosted by the Ozone Secretariat


Negotiating blocs
European Union