Highlights and images for 7 November 2018



Local artwork outside the venue

The preparatory segment of the Montreal Protocol MOP 30 convened for its third day on Wednesday, 7 November 2018, in Quito, Ecuador. In the morning, delegates addressed:

  • Review of the terms of reference, composition and balance as well as fields of expertise required of the assessment panels and their subsidiary bodies;
  • Consideration of senior expert and other nominations by parties to the Technology and Economic Assessment Panel (TEAP); and
  • Consideration of the membership of Montreal Protocol bodies for 2019.

In the afternoon, the Budget Committee and contact groups met. In evening plenary, delegates heard reports back from the contact groups and forwarded a few decisions to the High Level Segment (HLS). They also considered Harmonized System customs codes for hydrochlorofluorocarbons (HCFCs) and clorofluorocarbons (CFCs) substitutes and a draft decision on progress by the Multilateral Fund (MLF) Executive Committee (ExCom) in the development of guidelines for financing the phase-down of hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs).For extensive details on the day’s negotiations and to hear what delegates said in the corridors, see our daily Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB).

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, provided daily reports and daily web coverage from MOP 30. In addition, IISD Reporting Services will publish a summary and analysis report of the meeting in HTML and PDF.


Photos by IISD/ENB | Diego Noguera

For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

Liana Ghahramanyan, Armenia
John Thompson and Luke H. Hall-Jordan, US
Miruza Mohamed, Maldives, President of the Implementation Committee
Annie Gabriel, Australia
Delegates from Jordan, L-R: Emad Eddin Fattouh, Zaid Banyhani, and Ghazi Alodat
Mikkel Sørensen, Denmark
Philippe Chemouny, Canada
Alain Wilmart, Belgium
Abderrahim Chakour, Morocco
Azra Rogović-Grubić, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Tumau Herownna Neru, Samoa
W. Stephen Comstock, ASHRAE, and Julian R de Bullet, environmental consultant
L-R: Ping-Fei Shieh and Wen-Cheng Hu, Industrial Technology Research Institute (ITRI); and Stephen Montzka, Scientific Assessment Panel
Osvaldo Álvarez, Chile, in consultations with Lesley Dowling, Australia
Gabriela Fischerova and Lucia Rosolankova, Slovakia
Delegates from Australia, Canada, and the US, share a laugh during a break
Guo Xiaolin, China
Dan Teng’o, Ozone Secretariat, announced the the Protocol’s Ozone Heroes Campaign has been awarded the Hermes Creative Award.
L-R: Helène Rochat, Topten; Gabrielle Dreyfus, Kigali Cooling Efficiency Program; and Jessica Brown, ClimateWorks Foundation
Kevin Mead, Canada, and Nadia Sohier Zaman, IISD
Amit Love (center), India, confers with delegates from the EU
Abdulrahman Salih Hariri, Saudi Arabia, in consultations with OEWG Co-Chair Yaqoub Almatouq (right), Kuwait
Latin America and Caribbean (GRULAC) delegates meet informally
Delegates from India, Argentina, Brazil, China, and Kuwait discuss the agenda item on guidelines
The Budget Committee
A view of the room during the contact group on energy efficiency
Delegates discuss during the contact group on adjustments
OzoneAction representatives
Mazen Hussein, Lebanon; OEWG Co-Chair Yaqoub Almatouq, Kuwait; and Hasan Mubarak, Bahrain
Around the Venue
Members of ITRI and the delegation of the Republic of Korea