Highlights and images for 6 November 2018



Delegates during Tuesday’s proceedings

The preparatory segment of the Montreal Protocol MOP 30 convened for its second day on Tuesday, 6 November 2018, in Quito, Ecuador.In the morning, delegates addressed linkages between hydrochlorofluorocarbons (HCFCs) and hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs) in transitioning to low global warming potential (GWP) alternatives, and issues related to energy efficiency while phasing down HFCs.In the afternoon, delegates discussed:

  • Proposed adjustments to the Montreal Protocol on HCFCs for non-Article 5 parties;
  • Unexpected emissions of trichlorofluoromethane (CFC-11); and
  • Issue raised by the United Arab Emirates regarding eligibility for financial and technical assistance.

For extensive details on the day’s negotiations and to hear what delegates said in the corridors, see our daily Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB).

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, provided daily reports and daily web coverage from MOP 30. In addition, IISD Reporting Services will publish a summary and analysis report of the meeting in HTML and PDF.


Photos by IISD/ENB | Diego Noguera

For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

L-R: Bella Maranion, Fabio Polonara, and Suely Carvalho, Senior Experts of the Technology and Economic Assessment Panel (TEAP); Gilbert Bankobeza, Ozone Secretariat; Tina Birmpili, Executive Secretary, Ozone Secretariat; OEWG Co-Chair Cindy Newberg, US; OEWG Co-Chair Yaqoub Almatouq, Kuwait; Megumi Seki, Deputy Executive Secretary, Ozone Secretariat; Martha Leyva, Ozone Secretariat; and Martha Mulumba, Ozone Secretariat
Moosa Masoud Al-Kalbani, Oman
Hasan Mubarak, Bahrain
L-R: Bella Maranion, Fabio Polonara, and Suely Carvalho, TEAP Senior Experts
Samuel Pare, Burkina Faso
Patricia Soares Leite, Brazil
OEWG Co-Chair Cindy Newberg, US, and OEWG Co-Chair Yaqoub Almatouq, Kuwait
Charles Ikeah, Nigeria
Juliet Kabera, Rwanda
Gabriela Lira and Magda Luduvice, Brazil
Ralph Brieskorn, the Netherlands, and Philip Owen, European Union (EU)
The German delegation during informal consultations
Crescentia Foulo and Mathatela Ntsatsi, Lesotho
Paul Krajnik, EU
Laura Juliana Arciniegas, Colombia
Amit Love, India
Members of the Scientific Assessment Panel. L-R: Stephen Montzka, Bonfils Safari, Paul Newman, and John Pyle.
María Antonella Parodi, Argentina
Shontelle Wellington, Barbados
John Thompson and Lauren Stowe, US
Xia Yingxian, China
Ana María Kleymeyer, Federated States of Micronesia
Najme Ghaedizade, Iran
Around the Venue



Negotiating blocs
European Union