Highlights and images for 7 March 2017



The fifth Plenary Session of the Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services opened in Bonn, Germany.

In the morning, delegates heard keynote speeches and opening statements and addressed organizational matters.

In the afternoon, plenary considered progress in implementing the IPBES work programme, and initiated discussions on budget and capacity building.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, has provided daily web coverage, daily reports, and a summary and analysis report from the Stakeholder Day and the 5th Session of the Plenary of the Intergovernmental Science-Policy
Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services (IPBES-5). The summary and analysis report is available in HTML and PDF.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Sean Wu
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

Morning Plenary

Participants watching a video before the morning plenary

IPBES Chair Robert Watson

IPBES Executive Secretary Anne Larigauderie

Christiane Paulus, Germany

Edoardo Zandri, UNEP

The panel at morning plenary

Reinhard Limbach, Deputy Mayor of the City of Bonn

Richard Kinley, UNFCCC Deputy Executive Secretary

Guy Midgley, Stellenbosch University, South Africa

José Romero, Switzerland

Peter Bridgewater, Australia

Kristina Raab, Helmholtz-Centre for Environmental Research

Ilham Mohamed, Maldives

Ana María Hernández Salgar, Colombia

Prudence Tangham Galega, Cameroon

(L-R) Kate Louw, Stefan Jungcurt, Eugenia Recio and Beate Antonich, IISD/ENB

Hesiquio Benítez Díaz, Mexico

Christine Dawson, US

David Cooper, Deputy Executive Secretary, Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD)

Larbi Sbai, Morocco

Diego Pacheco Balanza, Bolivia

Najme Ghaedizade, Iran

Carlos Alberto De Mattos Scaramuzza, Brazil

Afternoon Plenary

The dais during the afternoon plenary

Hany Tatwany, Saudi Arabia

Sofía Treviño Heres, Mexico

Fumiko Nakao, Japan

Anton Mezhnev, the Russian Federation

Xavier Sticker, France

Thomas Brooks, IUCN

Junsheng Li, China

Andrew Stott, UK

Emmanuelle Matras Swynghedauw, France

Luthando Dziba, South Africa

Fiona Fraser, Australia

Santiago D'Alessio, Argentina

Luis Francisco Rosa Pérez Tuesta, Peru

Signing of IPBES-CITES Cooperation Agreement

IPBES Executive Secretary Anne Larigauderie and David Morgan, CITES Secretariat


Around the Venue