Highlights and images for 30 October 2017



Delegates to the seventh session of the Governing Body (GB 7) of the International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture (ITPGRFA) met in plenary throughout the day and in the evening, to hear opening and regional statements, address organizational matters, and initiate discussions on enhancement of the Multilateral System (MLS) of access and benefit-sharing (ABS) and a proposal by Switzerland to expand Annex I to all plant genetic resources for food and agriculture (PGRFA). Following lengthy deliberations, they agreed to address the topic of digital sequence information under the agenda item on the multi-year programme of work (MYPOW). A contact group on enhancing the MLS met in the evening.

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, provided daily web coverage, daily reports, and a summary and analysis report from the 7th session of the Governing Body of the International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture. The Earth Negotiations Bulletin summary and analysis of ITPGRFA GB 7 is now available in HTML and PDF.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Mike Muzurakis
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

View of the dais during the plenary session

Marjory Jeke, Farmer, Benefit-sharing Fund project

Jean-Christophe Gouache, President, International Seed Federation

Ann Tutwiler, Director General, Bioversity International

Timothy Fischer, Chairman, Global Crop Diversity Trust

Muhamad Sabran, Chair of the Seventh Session of the Governing Body

Kent Nnadozie, Secretary a.i., Governing Body of the International Treaty

Afshaan Shafi, Communication Specialist, ITPGRFA Secretariat

Geraldine Mukeshimana, Minister of Agriculture and Animal Resources, Republic of Rwanda

René Castro-Salazar, Assistant Director-General, Department of Climate, Biodiversity, Land and Water, FAO

Médi Moungui, Cameroon

Mónica Martínez Menduiño, Ecuador

Kim van Seeters, the Netherlands

Tetsuya Otomo, Japan

Pierre du Plessis, Namibia

Pat Mooney, ETC Group

Nori Ignacio, Southeast Asia Regional Initiatives for Community Empowerment (SEARICE)

Christine Dawson, US

Alwin Kopse, Switzerland

Yufdy Muhammad Prama, Indonesia

Antonio Otavio Sá Ricarte, Brazil

Francisco López, ITPGRFA Secretariat

Michael Halewood, CGIAR Consortium

Anke van den Hurk, International Seed Federation

Georgina Catacora-Vargas, Plurinational State of Bolivia

Around the Venue

Reception hosted by the Government of Rwanda