Highlights and images for 24 September 2019


Highlights for Tuesday, 24 September 2019

WG Co-Chairs, Technical Support Unit (TSU) members and Lead Authors celebrating the adoption of the report

The 51st session of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC-51) concluded Tuesday, 24 September 2019, with the approval of the Summary for Policymakers (SPM) of the Special Report on the Ocean and Cryosphere in a Changing Climate (SROCC). Although the meeting was initially scheduled to end on 23 September, delegates ended up working through the night to reach agreement on the SPM in the second Joint Session of IPCC Working Groups (WGs) I and II. The SPM was forwarded to the Panel for approval. The Panel also accepted the underlying technical report.

The SROCC SPM has three sections:

  • Observed changes and impacts;
  • Projected changes and risks; and
  • Implementing responses to ocean and cryosphere change.
  • IPCC-51 was also provided with an update on progress for the Scoping Meeting for the Synthesis Report of the Sixth Assessment Report that will meet in Singapore in October. IPCC-51 concluded at 1:39 pm.

    IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, provided daily web coverage and a summary and analysis from IPCC-51.

    Photos by IISD/ENB | Mike Muzurakis

    For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

    From L-R: WG II Co-Chair Debra Roberts; WG II Co-Chair Hans-Otto Pörtner; WG I Co-Chair Valérie Masson-Delmotte; WG I Co-Chair Panmao Zhai; and Anna Pirani, WG I TSU
    IPCC Chair Hoesung Lee, gaveling the meeting to a close.
    WG II Co-Chair Hans-Otto Pörtner
    IPCC Chair Hoesung Lee, with Abdalah Mokssit, IPCC Secretary
    WG I Co-Chair Valérie Masson-Delmotte
    WG II Vice-Chair Mark Howden
    From L-R: María Amparo Martínez Arroyo, Mexico; Éric Brun, France; and Ole-Kristian Kvissel, Norway
    WG I and II Co-Chairs conferring with Lead Authors (LAs)
    IPCC Bureau members conferring with LAs
    From L-R: Ayman Shasly, Saudi Arabia; Bushra AlHinai, Saudi Arabia; and Tatiana Dmitrieva, Russian Federation
    LAs conferring during a break
    WG II Co-Chair Debra Roberts
    Alexandre Magnan, LA
    José Álvaro Silva and Ivonne Montes, Portugal
    Ayman Shasly, Saudi Arabia
    Ken Xie, Australia
    WG I Co-Chairs and TSU members conferring with LAs
    Tatiana Dmitrieva, Russian Federation
    Jessica Astier, Monaco
    Melinda Tignor, Head of WG II TSU, with Katie Kissick, WG III TSU
    LAs discussing the text during a contact group
    WG II Co-Chair Hans-Otto Pörtner, with Sophie Schlingemann, Legal and Liaison Officer, IPCC Secretariat
    Christian Müller, Germany