Highlights and images for 13 December 2018




Highlights for Thursday, 13 December 2018

The Blacktail Reef Shark

The Third Meeting of Signatories (MOS3) to the Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wild Animals (CMS) Memorandum of Understanding on the Conservation of Migratory Sharks (Sharks MOU) continued its deliberations on Thursday, 13 December, at the Oceanographic Museum of Monaco. Key takeaways from the fourth day included:

  • amendment of the terms of reference of the Advisory Committee (AC) to ensure stability, continuity, and renewal of the AC, as well as nominations for the new term of the AC;
  • suggestions for enhanced levels of engagement with regional fisheries management organizations (RFMOs);
  • agreement on a process for reviewing factsheets for Annex 1 species;
  • agreement on the terms of reference for a working group on national reporting to work intersessionally; and
  • failure to reach consensus on listing the blue shark (Prionace glauca), with an expected revisit of the proposal at MOS4, with updated information on its conservation status.

The working group to address the pending listing of the angelshark (Squatina squatina), as well as the drafting group on the terms of reference of the Advisory Committee, met at lunchtime. The working group on the programme of work met in the evening. At lunchtime, the Agreement on the Conservation of Cetaceans of the Black Sea, Mediterranean Sea and Contiguous Atlantic Area (ACCOBAMS) organized a side event called “The ACCOBAMS Survey Initiative.” In the evening, the Shark Trust and Sharks Advocates International organized an event called “Saving Sawfish and Angelsharks.”

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, has provided a summary and analysis report from Sharks MOS3.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Mike Muzurakis

For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

From L-R: Andrea Pauly, CMS Secretariat; MOS3 Vice-Chair David Hogan, US; and Melanie Virtue, CMS Secretariat
Djibril Diouck, Senegal
Mohamed El Hacene Mekiyoun, Mauritania
Jim Ellis, Vice Chair, Sharks MOU Advisory Committee
Céline van Klaveren-Impagliazzo, Monaco, and Tharaka Prasad, Sri Lanka
From L-R: Soule Hamidou, Comoros; Victor Mamonekene, Republic of the Congo; Gina Cuza Jones, Costa Rica; Ocho Modeste Abel Adou, Côte d'Ivoire; and Djibril Diouck, Senegal
Gina Cuza Jones, Costa Rica
Lesley Gidding-Reeve, Australia
Melanie Virtue, CMS Secretariat, and Michelle Heupel, Australia
Beatriz Ladines Villamar and Marco Antonio Herrera Cabrera, Ecuador
From L-R: Eman Alyasin, Syria; Rumaitha Alshehhi, United Arab Emirates; Obaid Al Shamsi, United Arab Emirates; Zuhair Al Mubarak, Saudi Arabia; Mohammed Mobarak Alshamlan, Saudi Arabia; and Raed Bani-Hani, Jordan
Sarika Singh, South Africa
Christiane Pilz, Germany
Delegates from Africa during consultations
John Carlson, Chair, Sharks MOU Advisory Committee, and Céline van Klaveren-Impagliazzo, Monaco
From L-R: Sarah McCain; Ximena Cancino; and Tine Lindberg-Roncari, CMS Secretariat
Daniel Fernando, Blue Resources Trust, and Tharaka Prasad, Sri Lanka
Angela Martini, EU
Tiffany Bock, New Zealand
Ocho Modeste Abel Adou, Côte d'Ivoire, and Mohamed El Hacene Mekiyoun, Mauritania
Oliver Schall, Germany
Kim Friedman, Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)
Rumaitha Alshehhi and Obaid Al Shamsi, United Arab Emirates
Around the venue



Negotiating blocs
European Union