You are viewing our old site. See the new one here

go to IISDnet

6th Meeting of the Subsidiary Bodies for Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice (SBSTTA) of the 
Convention on Biodiversity (CBD)

Montreal, Canada 12-16 March 2001


Previous days' multimedia coverage of  SBSSTA-6 
(photos and RealAudio)

ENB Summary

Highlights from Friday, 16 March 2001

During the closing Plenary, regional groups then presented their nominations for the SBSTTA Bureau. Delegates elected Dehui Wang (China), Grace N.W. Thitai (Kenya), Lily Rodriguez (Peru), Paula Warren (New Zealand) and Peter Straka (Slovakia). Raed Bani Hani (Jordan), Renato Rimoli (Dominican Republic), Anastasios Legakis (Greece) and Koffi Edinam Dantsey (Togo), and Jan Plesnick (Czech Republic) will remain in office as Bureau members. On the draft provisional agenda for SBSTTA-7, the Secretariat introduced UNEP/CBD/SBSTTA/6/13. TOGO, on behalf of the African Group, proposed moving marine and coastal biodiversity from SBSTTA-9 to SBSTTA-7. After some discussion, delegates agreed that the SBSTTA Bureau would consider the issue as a substantive element for SBSTTA-8. Delegates adopted the dates and venue of SBSTTA-7, which are 12-16 November 2001, in Montreal. 

Above photo: Incoming and outgoing SBSTTA Bureaux of the CBD

ENB Coverage of SBSTTA-5
CBD Secretariat web site with official documents and information for participants
SBSTTA Issues on: Invasive Alien Species | Climate Change and Biodiversity | GTI
SBSTTA-5 Recommendations
ENB's Introduction to CBD
German CHM COP Decisions Database

ENB Daily Report
Mon 12

Tue 13

Wed 14

Thu 15

Fri 16

© 2000, IISD. All rights reserved.